Mush!

Saw this bike rack in my travels

 and it brought back a time in the early 70’s when I was racing sled dogs all up across the northern part of America and south eastern Canada. 

I’m the one in front and actually won this race. At the time of this picture (1975) I was rated 12th internationally and qualified for a spot in the Iditarod.

Unfortunately I could not raise the required sponsorship, which at that time was $150K. This did not include transportation to Seward Alaska, which in itself was a hefty price as I recall.

 

All in all it was a good time, and how I stood the cold I’ll never know… but I was younger back then, thought I was invincible and probably not real smart!

Click this link  for more information.

Long before there was bicycles, there were sled dogs! …and also no carbon footprint!

About Florida Biking

Anything and everything about Florida and Biking. Please don't take us or yourself too serious!
This entry was posted in Florida Biking. Bookmark the permalink.