No Mountains in Florida!

In 2004 I bought a Trek 4900 Mountain Bike. My 4900 has now over 12,000 miles, and is still going strong. The stock 4900 has an excellent rigid frame (Alpha SL frame) and this is one of the last one’s made in America

Shimano XT FD/RD are quite good, as is the the Shimano Deore Hollowtech crank. Bontrager Race stem, bar, and post improve rigidity, while providing a quality feel. This is the same level of parts offered on the new Trek 8000. Mine has a 22.5 frame  and is heavy (30 lbs) by today standards but is a respectable trail bike but understand it is not made for racing.

I hate the seat on it… probably the worst I’ve ever ridden, I’ve changed it out a couple of times but always end up putting the original back on. If I used it a a true mountain bike I probably would be pleased with the saddle however I’ve made some modifications to the bike converting it into a hybrid (handle bar extensions, road tires, rear rack, just to name a few).

I’ve pondered selling it several times and it has been known to just sit in a corner of the garage, but every now and then (like yesterday) I’ll move it. Of course that makes me want to get on it and ride it to see what it was that endeared me to the bike in the first place. I then feel that sweet American made response that I’ve grown accustomed to with this bike and the next thing you know I’ve ridden 20 miles.

Maybe I’ll just hang on to it for a little while longer, after all its a classic now and it does make me smile everytime I get on it! So back in the corner of the garage it goes until the next time I need to move it!

I’ve listed the specs below for the bike. A very good ride in its day but geared a little low for Florida paved trail riding.:

2004  Trek  4900
Years this model was made:
2006
2004
2003
2002
2001
Bicycle Type Mountain bike, front suspension
MSRP (new) $769.99
Weight 30 lbs
Sizes 13″, 16″, 18″, 19.5″, 21″, 22.5″
Colors Ball-Burnished/Black, Blue/Black
Item ID 31175
Frame & Fork
Frame Construction TIG-welded
Frame Tubing Material Aluminum
Fork Brand & Model Rock Shox Pilot C, 80mm travel
Fork Material Aluminum/magnesium, single crown
Rear Shock Seat Post (sorta)
Components
Component Group Mountain Mix
Brakeset Aluminum linear-pull brakes, aluminum linear-pull levers
Shift Levers Shimano Alivio RapidFire
Front Derailleur Shimano Alivio
Rear Derailleur Shimano Deore SGS
Crankset Bontrager Sport, 22/32/42 teeth
Pedals Aluminum cage
Bottom Bracket Unspecified
BB Shell Width Unspecified
Rear Cogs 9-speed, 11 – 32 teeth
Chain 1/2 x 3/32″
Seatpost Bontrager Sport
Saddle Trek ATB
Handlebar Bontrager Sport
Handlebar Extensions Not included
Handlebar Stem Bontrager Sport
Headset 1 1/8″ threadless Aheadset
Wheels
Hubs Front: aluminum, Q/R, Rear: Shimano
Rims Bontrager Maverick, 32-hole
Tires 26 x 2.20″ Bontrager ACX
Spoke Brand Stainless steel, 14ga. (2.0mm) straight gauge
Spoke Nipples Brass nipples
About Florida Biking

Anything and everything about Florida and Biking. Please don't take us or yourself too serious!
This entry was posted in Florida Biking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Mountains in Florida!

  1. Ross-Barry Finlayson says:

    A bike, treated as like you would treat a member of your family, will provide you with many hours of joy and pleasure. I always find it very difficult when I have to say “goodbye” to a bike.

  2. Florida Biking says:

    I wish I still had my J C Higgins bike from when I was a boy. That was the coolest bike, big tires and fenders, light on the fender, full rack, gas tank type bar and tassels on the handle bars. I still miss it and have fond memories of it! https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/431239_239834096093809_100002016600046_507695_1723012134_n.jpg

Comments are closed.