Where am I and where have I been?

While talking to my friend at Trailsnet.com, Kevin, I happened to mention Every Trail, to which he replied I haven’t thought of them in a long time.  Yes its true, Every Trail has been around for a long time and even though its not my primary bicycle gps app I do use it a lot.

Released around 2006,  

It will record your path between waypoints, not just the stops you make.

Why would you want this? To record a favorite hike or bike ride, perhaps. This site lets you share your route with others, for those trips where the point is the journey itself.

Once you have uploaded your trail from your phone app., you can add placemarks, notes, and photos. The photos feature, in particular, is very cool: The service correlates the time stamps on your photos with your GPS trail and automatically places photos along your route (it geotags your photos).  This is probably the #1 reason I use Every Trail.

This is an example of an Every Trail trip I made with geotaging and the second link is a guide I made using the same program. http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=1343007  http://www.everytrail.com/guide/manatee-viewing-center

You can see your trails on the site’s Google Maps mashup page (EveryTrail also includes a topographical map option, a nice bonus), or on Google Earth. You can also upload the trail to another portable GPS device. Another reason I like this app is because it allows me to download other user trails and guides that I find useful or interesting.

If I’m not geotagging photos then I use My Tracks for the Android app.With My Tracks you can record GPS tracks and visualize your hiking, running, biking or any other activity while watching live performance statistics. My Tracks makes it easy to archive my training history with Google Docs and Google My Maps, and share my activities with friends and the world.

Because My Tracks is an open source app I can record my GPS tracks and show live statistics such as time, speed, distance, and elevation – while hiking, cycling, running or participating in other outdoor activities. Once recorded, I can share my tracks, upload them to Google Spreadsheets and visualize them on Google My Maps.

The features of My Track are pretty impressive and add to the fact that its constantly being updated by Google and its FREE makes this an excellent app.

While recording tracks, you can:

  1. See location / progress on a map
  2. Monitor real-time statistics: time, distance, speed, elevation
    1. View elevation profile by time or distance
    2. Zoom, pan elevation profile
  3. Create waypoints
  4. Create statistics waypoints (splits tracks into subtracks)

To share tracks, you can:

  1. Upload to Google Map (example)
  2. Upload to Google Docs (example)
  3. Email as a Google My Map link
  4. Embed Google Map on a website
  5. Email as .gpx or .kml attachments
  6. Export as .gpx or .kml to phone SD card
  7. Tweet your My Map link on Twitter using Twidroid

So there you have it, my two favorite GPS bike tracking applications. There are literally hundreds more out there, a quick trip to the Market Place on your Android phone will confirm that and less, of course, on the Iphone. With that being said, I am sure the perfect tracking app for you is out there. Just play with them (most on Android are free) until you find the one that suits your fancy. Now go out and have fun knowing you’ll never get lost or forget the perfect trail you were on three yrs ago.

I have tried to include in the list below, the top bicycle apps available for both the Android and Iphone. If I’ve missed any please feel free to add them to this blog.

Cycling GPS trackers

SportsTracker

SportsTracker which is integrated with Facebook and Twitter allows you to track your cycling and monitor your performance. It shows you what speed you are moving at, a map, the distance you’ve covered and plenty of other similar stats. The free version holds a total of 5 tracks. The application can also be hooked up to a heart rate and cadence sensor to give you even more information. It generally comes well recommended from its users. This comes in a free and a paid version.

Sports Tracker Live app screenshot for the Android

My Tracks

My Tracks is a free Android application by Google allowing you to GPS track your cycling and export it to view on Google My Maps. It is pretty well refined and well trusted. Great for keeping track of your routes. It also has plenty of statistics such as speed, distance and elevation.

My tracks by Google for the Android

BreadCrumbz

BreadCrumbz  is a really innovative way of sharing routes with friends. You can add photos of way pointers and tag points of interest. You can then share the routes online and discover routes other people have added.

SportyPal

SportyPal similarly to all the other apps shows speed, distance, tempo, pace, altitude and calories burnt. It will graph your performance and also display your route on a map. The app provides voice feedback and also links in with the social networks. The app is free to download.

RunTastic

RunTastic links in with the online community to allow you to upload your training data. The app comes in both a lite version with adverts and a professional paid version. It allows you to track all the classic things and has a nice clean design that is easy to use.

Run Tastic app for the Android

AboveRoad

AboveRoad is a free app for the Android that tracks your GPS movements. It includes speed, distance, start, stop time and calories burnt.

RunKeeper

RunKeeper tracks all the classic things and is a fairly well designed app although could do with a little added functionality. It also links in with a good online community which is where this app becomes useful.

EveryTrail

EveryTrail allows you to capture your route on a map using the GPS and also includes functionality to add any pictures you take. It links in with their online community.

CardioTrainer

CardioTrainer is an excellent workout trainer. It integrates with your music player and has clever features such as an autopause when you are stopped at traffic lights. The premium version for $2.99 also has weight loss and race against yourself functionality. A great, refined cycling and running app for the Android and IPhone.

Cardio Trainer cycling app for the Android showing main screen

Gear Calculator

FixedGears allows you to calculate gearing ratios.

About Florida Biking

Anything and everything about Florida and Biking. Please don't take us or yourself too serious!
This entry was posted in Florida Biking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where am I and where have I been?

  1. Ross-Barry Finlayson says:

    Another benefit these ‘sites have is they promote the area, and what is available, plus allows people from abroad, who plan to visit the area, see what is on offer. Some years ago I was contacted, through my “Everytrail” page, by a student living in Iran who was planning on attending a local university, for 3-months. He was keen to do some hiking while here, saw my page, contacted me, and the rest is history.

Comments are closed.